Massachusetts Hemp Seeds
Buy Feminized Hemp Seeds For The State Of Massachusetts
CBD Hemp Seeds For Growing In Massachusetts
Those who want to process or grow hemp in Massachusetts must apply for licensing through the state. The state’s Department of Agriculture issues hemp licensing. It additionally oversees inspection, grants certification, and offers educational tools for MA hemp farmers.
Get Licensed to Grow Hemp in Massachusetts
There are three types of hemp licenses in Massachusetts: the Producer (Grower) license, the Processor License, and the Dual Producer/Processor License. Those who only plan to grow hemp before passing it to on a processor should apply for the Producer License. Conversely, those who will process hemp and prepare it for commerce must apply for a Processor License. Finally, those who will do both should apply for a Dual License, thereby saving time and money on the total licensing costs.
A map of the hemp growing or processing locations must accompany the application form. The map must include GPS coordinates, address, site features, clearly marked boundaries, and the name of the site owner or leaseholder. The application fee for all forms is $100, and the License fee (due upon approval) is $300.
The application must also include an official Criminal History Report dated no earlier than 60 days before the application date. The background check costs $18 payable to the Treasury of the United States.
Moreover, the application must include an agreement only to procure seeds or hemp stock from an approved distributor. Note that under Massachusetts law, license-holders must submit documentation in their Planting Report proving that the seed source is THC-compliant.
Hemp Reporting in MA
Licensed Massachusetts hemp growers and processors must keep careful records and submit regular reports to the MDOA. The first report growers must file is the Planting Report, which includes things like lot location, the number and variety of seeds or propagules, and the expected harvest date. The Planting Report must also include documentation proving compliant THC levels (less than 0.3 percent) of the plant source. Certificate of Analysis is a good source for this. The licensee must submit the planting report no later than ten days after planting the first seed or propagule.
Growers must also file a Harvest Report at least 21 days before the expected harvest date. Upon receipt, the Department will contact the license holder to schedule a date of sampling. It is unlawful to harvest hemp before the Department takes samples for testing.
Finally, license-holders must submit either a Grow Site Amendment Form or a Processor Site Amendment Form should the growing or processing sites change. The Department must receive these forms before changes occur.
Mass State Hemp Sampling and Testing
MDAR tests all hemp crops for THC compliance using high-performance liquid chromatography (HPLC) regardless of moisture content. This type of testing measures total potential THC using the formula (delta-9 THC + (THCa * 0.877). This article helps explain the process.
Growers must harvest within ten days after the Department completes testing and confirms its compliance. Non-compliant crops require mandatory destruction. Growers may test plants up to three times before the Department orders destruction.
Buy Massachusetts Hemp Seeds
The MDOA does not provide a list of approved Massachusetts hemp seed vendors. Seeds and propagules must accompany a Certificate of Analysis confirming THC compliance of the parent cultivar(s). It is the responsibility of the grower to ensure that seed distributors are reputable and that all COAs are valid.
Furthermore, those who wish to grow hemp for CBD must only purchase feminized CBD hemp seeds. Female plants exclusively produce cannabinoid-rich flowers, and potency will wane if male plants pollinate them. It is, therefore, crucial to ensure that only female hemp plants grow on a plot dedicated to CBD hemp.