Washington Hemp Seeds
Buy Feminized Hemp Seeds For The State Of Washington
CBD Hemp Seeds For Growing In Washington
It is legal to grow hemp in Washington under a new set of guidelines. Though the state previously operated under the Industrial Hemp Research Pilot Program, those rules repealed in January 2020. Consequently, state officials released new emergency rules to govern hemp production in the area. Those rules officially went into effect in February 2020.
Get Licensed to Grow Hemp in Washington
Those who wish to grow hemp in Washington must submit a Hemp Processor License Application to the state’s Department of Agriculture. The application must include a name, contact information, and Criminal History Report for all key participants. It must also list, in detail, information about each proposed production site. However, the state no longer requires aerial photography of hemp sites.
Applications must also include a license fee of $1200 plus a $200 late fee for those submitted after March 31. There is an additional $200 fee for Hemp License Site Modifications. Licenses are valid for one year and expire 13 months after the date of issuance.
There is no minimum or maximum hemp acreage restrictions in Washington. However, the state strongly encourages farmers to research the market before planting large areas of hemp lest there be insufficient demand come harvest-time.
The state does not require processor licensing.
Mandatory Hemp Reporting
The USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) requires regular hemp reporting to help track production and sales throughout the nation. When a registrant applies for hemp licensing, they must agree to report acreage to the USDA. They must include the license number, types of plants, intended crop use, and a map outlining the precise boundaries of the area.
Additionally, the licensee must maintain signage around the perimeter. The signs must include, at minimum, the hemp license number, crop type, and the Department phone number.
Washington Hemp Sampling and Testing
The USDA insists that farmers have all hemp crops tested to confirm THC compliance. To be clear, cannabis is only defined as hemp if it contains less than 0.3 percent THC. Anything above that threshold is “marijuana,” which falls under a completely different regulatory statute.
The license-holder must submit a Hemp Harvest Sample Request Form to the Department at least 30 days before the projected harvest date. A licensed laboratory technician will take a representative sample of each hemp lot about 15 days before harvest.
Hemp with confirmed THC compliance may move into commerce, whereas hemp that tests above 0.3 percent THC is subject to specific penalties. The Department will determine what those penalties are when the time comes. However, please note that the DOA takes non-compliance seriously to protect both the public and the budding hemp industry.
Buy Washington Feminized Hemp Seeds
Washington does not regulate the sale of hemp seeds in the state. However, the licensee must provide information about their seed source in both the Hemp Production License Application and the Hemp Harvest Inspection/Sampling Request form.
Because there are no restrictions on buying hemp seeds in Washington, it is up to the grower to conduct due diligence when choosing the best hemp seed bank for their needs. They must ensure that the seeds come from a reputable distributor with valid COAs and continuously high germination rates.
Furthermore, those who plan to grow hemp for CBD must only buy feminized hemp seeds. Female-only hemp seeds produce large, compliant flowers with generous CBD levels, thus increasing its value on the open market. Washington feminized CBD seeds are, perhaps, the most important CBD hemp farming purchase aside from land and licensing fees.